One day, a friend asked me if I could take his Yorkshire Terrier and raise him. His son was allergic and it was causing problems for them. The dog’s name was Lucky. When I received him, he came with crate, bed, bowls, leash, collar and a clean bill of health. He was hesitant at first because of Max, my Weimaraner. First up, I changed his name. I’m the type of person who likes unique names. Not just the ordinary. I named him Najee Luck. He looked like a Najee and he quickly became acclamated to the name. Unfortunately the dog was not trained! (Something the previous owners failed to mention!)  He was not house trained, didn’t know basic commands, (or didn’t care to), but he was cute as a whip, the little scoundrel. It took me 6 months to get him potty trained. He got tired of the crate and saw the freedoms Max had and finally figured out the deal. Finally, he learned basic commands and my tones. If I was angry, he would quietly go upstairs and hide under the bed for hours, not heeding to any calls. So we called “time out”. (and it was his idea!) He had the life of luxery. Leather bomber jacket, sweaters, spa treatments, nail manicures, shearling bed, etc. He was a handsome fellow, but sometimes a little defiant! He began competing with Max. Max had to rip him a new tail a few times. He knew his place after a time and became more submissive to Max. He then began acting out a little to much, defecating in shoes, not listening. I’m not imagining it when I say the little rascal would cuss me out a few times. If I exclaim that I’m mad because he urinated on the rug after coming in the house from a walk, I’d say “get your little butt over here!” He’d take off grumbling and go to “time out” on his own. Well, it just got to be too much after a time because there began esculated competition between the two males. I remembered a friend of mine who had become a Widow and in the same year, her senior dog had passed away. I asked her and she was unsure. She came to the house and saw Najee and thought about it later. Needless to say, she came to pick him up. We had a bon voyage party for him. He’s still related though. His new mom is a good friend of the family. We kept him separate from us for quite a while so he could adjust with her. He is fat, happy and spoiled. What it all barrels down to is, sometimes you find a dog who is better off in a one dog, one pet household. Najee needed more attention and acted out to let us know this fact. Dogs have personalities just like humans.

The little handsome terrier

Bon Voyage NajeeNajee says goodbye!

About mspinkysartimpressions

I am an amatuer Impressionist artist. I love painting my dreams, fantasies, thoughts, ideas, visuals of life around me,...life! I love color, so when I paint I tend to blend deep colors. My mediums are oil, acrylic, watercolor, and pastels. On occasion I have used color pencils and magic marker. When I was in High School, I would paint posters for my fellow students and even one teacher for a nominal fee, which assisted me in purchasing supplies. I especially love painting nature. I love the ocean and I love trees. I hope to showcase my paintings in a gallery. If you are interested in purchasing one (or two or more), hit me up! I am also an animal lover. I have always had a pet of some kind from the time I was three. I am currently the mother of two dogs, a Siamese Fighting Fish and several Koi and Goldfish. I have a dream of becoming a breeder of Pedigree quality Labrador Retrievers that would be sold to The Veterans Organization, Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Sports Enthusiats, and loving family homes. My Labs would become famous for not only the breed, but the health, intelligence, social demeanor, discipline and the love they will express which would be a reflection of my family and myself. My eldest son and my granddaughter are also animal crazy!